Grammar and Composition for Heritage Learners

Home » Uncategorized » La Casa applications due March 7

La Casa applications due March 7

Categories

LaCasaDo you love speaking or learning Spanish? Are you interested in making lasting connections with students and faculty at UNC while working on fluency in the Spanish language? Apply to the Spanish House Living-Learning Community! The Spanish House LLC, also known as La Casa, is housed in Craige North and comprises some of the best leaders and community members on campus. Visit http://housing.unc.edu/residence-life/living-learning-communities/spanish-house.html​ or contact Jared Scruggs at jaredp@live.unc.edu for more information! Apply through the Housing application – the deadline is March 7th.

What is La Casa?

LaCasa2

La Casa is a community of students dedicated to improving the Spanish language skills and exploring the Latina/o culture. To that end, we challenge each other to maintain an environment of immersion and cooperative learning.  Community members attend social, cultural and community service events that build friendships, new cultural understanding, and language skills. Students in the Spanish House speak Spanish on a regular basis in the community. Through weekly meetings, educational sessions and conversation hours, participants will be able to expand their proficiency in the language and culture. There are opportunities to utilize these skills in the Carolina community and in the surrounding Chapel Hill/Carborro communities.

What are students saying?

  • Through La Casa, I made so many friends and connections. I’m glad I spent my first year here!” – Stefano Belloni, Class of 2017
  •  “I loved La Casa because the community that I’m a part of has become my Carolina family.” – Sydney Tillman, Class of 2017
  • “La Casa has eased my transition into Carolina by providing a close-knit community to help me feel at home while simultaneously opening my eyes to many cultures, which Carolina prides itself on valuing.” – Lea Efird, Class of 2017
  •  “I’ve been in La Casa two years, and I couldn’t have spent my time more wisely.” – Jared Scruggs, Class of 2016

 


Leave a comment